Occasionally a Subscriber will want to remove the Monitoring Client from a monitored machine, such as if the Subscriber is no longer doing business with the end user.
The Monitoring Client can be removed from a computer in four different ways:
- Remotely from the server interface
- From the PreferencePane
- Terminal.app or ARD commands
- Manually deleting the appropriate files
To remove the Monitoring Client remotely:
- Open the client record in the server view.
- Click the Gear menu at the top right.
- Choose Mark for Removal.
At this point, the client record is hidden from the server view, and no warning emails will be sent.
The Monitoring Client periodically checks for instruction from the server. The client notes the removal flag and runs the uninstall script. Part of that script is to send a final report confirming removal of all traces of the installation of the Monitoring Client.
If the client is still hidden at the time of removal, no report will be emailed. However, removal can be confirmed when searching for hidden clients.
Note that default setting for the Monitoring Client is to automatically check for settings changes at the server. This setting must be checked for remote removal to work.
- Click the Operations Tab
- Click Uninstall Client
- Send the following command with administrative permissions
- This command will prevent an email reporting the removal of the client:
Delete the following files, if present:
This method causes launchd to generate error messages about missing plists until the computer is restarted or launchd is manually unloaded.